[#011] ¡Quedé para el orto!

A couple of days ago I came across a new Facebook page called “Quedé para el orto” and I thought I could explain the meaning of that expression on this blog.


Qpo1

We’ll start with the word “orto“. It’s the same as “culo“, that is to say, “ass”. Now, “culo” in Spain is the ordinary word used to refer to the buttocks, but here in the River Plate area we would normally say “cola” instead. “Culo“, in contrast, is somewhat vulgar here. Some decades ago, it was an awful thing to say, but it has recently become less offensive, though, and now you can use it safely among your friends as if it were any other everyday word. In fact, we have lots of expressions that include “culo“.

But let’s go back to the expression “para el orto/culo” (or also “como el orto/culo“). This means “very bad”, usually in a not so sweet-sounding manner. Here are some examples:

    ¿Cómo te fue en la entrevista? (How did the interview go?)
    Me fue para el orto. (It went really bad.)

    ¿Cómo andás? (How are you?)
    Como el culo. (Pretty bad.)

    ¿Te llegó mi mail? (Did you get my e-mail?)
    No, internet me anda para el culo. (No, my Internet connection sucks.)

    ¿Te gusta cantar? (Do you like singing?)
    No, canto como el orto. (No, I sing awful.)


So going back to the title of the Facebook page, the expression “quedar para el orto” means “to end up in a very bad situation” or “to look really bad”. The idea of that Facebook page is then to share different situations in which people do wrong, embarrassing or ridiculous things, just for fun.

I’ll share one of the page’s posts with you:


Qpo2

Quick translation: A guy in the bus wouldn’t stop looking at me, so I was acting like a diva looking out of the window. Ten minutes later he comes to me, touches my arm, and tells me: “there’s tooth paste on your chin”.

There it is: that person “quedó para el orto” in that situation.

By the way, in that example there are some other words worth-mentioning:

    Un flaco (a guy)
    El bondi (the bus)
    Pera (chin)

The word “flaco“, for instance, actually means “thin”. But when it is used as a noun, it just means “guy”, regardless of the physical appearance of the person it refers to.

Do you remember the word “bondi“? We have seen it in a previous entry of this blog.

And finally, in other Spanish-speaking areas “chin” is translated as “mentón” or “barbilla“, but here we normally say “pera” (just like the fruit “pear”). I don’t really know why, but maybe it has something to do with the fact that we, rioplatófonos, siempre mandamos fruta… 😉

Anyway, if you want to check out the website and have a laugh reading other similar anecdotes, you can click here. There’s lots of rioplatense expressions to practise in there, so… Have fun!

8 Comments

    • ¡Muy bien, Felix! Solamente faltaría agregar una palabrita en tu oración:

      “Espero que no me vaya para el orto CON mi idea”

      Pero hiciste una muy buena combinación de rioplatofonismos. (Sigo inventando palabras, jaja…) Así que ¡felicitaciones! 🙂

      • ¡Gracias! Me quedan unas dudas… 😛

        — ¿Cómo te fue en la entrevista?
        — Me fue para el orto.

        Si quiero repetir la palabra “entrevista” en la respuesta, ¿sería correcto entonces decir “me fue para el orto en la entrevista”?

        ¿También se puede decir “la entrevista me fue para el orto”?

  1. Es una estructura un poco compleja, sí.

    Así es, es correcto decir “me fue para el orto EN la entrevista”. Quizás es más fácil de entender si traducimos “(a mí) me fue para el orto” como “I sucked”. Por eso, no se puede decir “la entrevista ME fue para el orto” (o “the interview I sucked”).

    Si queremos usar “la entrevista” como sujeto de la oración, podríamos decir algo así como “la entrevista salió para el orto” (“the interview went really bad”).

  2. hey dude,, im taking a trip to buenos aires very soon and this is just awesome.. ive been reading all your articules theyre so damn good.. hope to get all these slangs and idioms before getting there.. way to go dude.. greetings from brazil

    • Thank you, Gabriel! It’s good to receive feedback like this. I like seeing that people find this blog useful. Best of luck in your trip around these tierras porteñas, then! 😉 And if you come across new expressions while in Buenos Aires, you can always share them with us and I’ll surely consider making new posts about them. Obrigado!

  3. Hey, Edgardo 😀 I was reading an article on OffQc (is that Felix? haha) and stumbled upon that mention of your blog… I felt like checking out and it turned out to be something I’ve been looking for for a long, long while now. I am Brazilian and I have tried to “turn” my Spanish into Rioplatense Spanish (I was taught the Iberic variety in school) since last year, but couldn’t find that much material on internet. I’ve already read all of your posts, and, che, you’re awesome! keep up the good work 😉

Leave a Reply

