[#007] ¡Qué boluda!

In the previous entry, we discussed the word “boludo“, its meaning and possible connotations.

Today, I want to share with you a couple of videos where this word is used. These videos belong in fact to a campaign made by the Argentine Red Cross in 2008. The slogan for this campagin was the following:


Campaña Cruz Roja

Can you understand the meaning of this phrase? The words “BOLUDO” and “BOLUDEZ” are used in two different senses here. If we translate this into English, it will probably be difficult to keep the pun between the words. But for this blog entry we just need to understand the meaning of the text, so this could be a literal translation of the slogan:

    In the country where we all call one another SILLY/STUPID, helping had to be EASY.

As you can see, the idea behind this slogan is to encourage people to do something that is considered very easy: make a small donation. If this is a “boludez“, it’s something everyone can do. And if we all call one another “boludo“, you can’t help but feel identified with this campaign.

Here is the first video I want to share. You will see an elderly woman (China Zorrilla, a famous Uruguayan actress) talking about the Red Cross campaign and also about the word “boludo“.




Here is a transcription of the video, plus an approximate translation of what the woman says:

Enviá un mensaje con la palabra AYUDA al 2789.
Send a message with the word HELP to the number 2789.

Donás $1 y salvás una vida.
You donate 1 peso and you save a life.

Eso me encantó. Hasta que lo di vuelta.
I loved that. Until I turned it over.

Y mirá con lo que me encuentro.
And look what I find.

“En el país donde todos nos decimos BOLUDO…”
“In the country where we all call one another BOLUDO…”

¿Pero qué es eso?
But what is that?

No todos nos decimos “boludo”.
Not all of us call one another “boludo”.

Yo no le digo “boludo” a la gente. La gente no me dice “boluda” a mí.
I don’t call other people “boludo”. Nobody calls me “boluda”.

¡Mirá lo que fueron a colocar!
Look at what they wrote!

No, yo el aviso no lo puedo hacer porque yo no digo “boluda”.
No, I can’t do this ad because I don’t say “boluda”.

Ay, me quiero morir. ¡Me quiero morir! Me puse la pollera al revés.
Oh, I want to die. I want to die! I’m wearing my skirt inside out.

¡Qué boluda!
How silly of me!


As you can see, this woman seems to consider this word offensive or vulgar. That’s why she makes it very clear that she doesn’t use this word, and she says that she refuses to do the ad for the campaign. But in the end, to her surprise, she finds herself actually using the word when she realizes she did something silly. She then calls herself “boluda“.

In the second video, in contrast, you will see a man (Mario Pergollini, a well-known TV presenter from Argentina) who has no problem in using this word. Here it is:




I’ll transcribe only the first part:

Hola, boludo. ¡Sí, a vos!
Hi, boludo. Yes, you!

Si los argentinos nos decimos siempre “boludo”.
(‘Cause) we Argentines always call one another “boludo”.

No lo digo yo, eh. Lo decimos todos.
I’m not the (only) one saying it, eh. We all do.

¿Quién es? Araceli
Who is it? Araceli

¡Subí, boludo!
Come on up, dumbass!

Ay, la blusa… ¡Qué, boluda!
Oh, my blouse… How stupid of me!


I hope these videos give you a better idea of the different ways in which this word can be used in different contexts. There are some other videos of this campaign, too. So feel free to look for them on Youtube if you want to.

But don’t worry too much. This word will keep appearing in future entries anyway, so you will be seeing more boludos and more boludeces here soon! There’s no way you won’t end up using it just like a true rioplatófono. 😉

Leave a Reply

